These are my mountains…..

image

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=D1JiSONS9k8

Hump day and not a pizza in sight!
Wee lady on much better form and managed her homework at 630am this morning. OH and I were getting worried that she hadn’t done it last night and caught ourselves laughing…..we religiously sit with her to do to do it every night and maybe we could justify the one night she didn’t so it as she was poorly.
Anyhoos, homework done and bunches done in her hair and off I went to work.
One of my students was in early for a blether. Coffee and a chat was the order of the day as we discussed where he goes post school. Despite our best efforts, we still have that idea that students who are academically bright will go to uni even if they don’t want to. I watched with delight as he spoke about the subjects he loved and what he enjoys. He might be looking at a different path than the one he is being shoe horned into…..and I absolutely love him for that. There is always that special group of students you work with that you can’t help feeling immensely proud of and that you would move heaven and earth to help them climb every rung to the stars. That’s my seniors.
We have students who come to us from other schools for classes and it’s always quite funny to see their reaction to our approach. If I could take my ladies, their energy, enthusiasm and commitment and sell it, I could buy more manolos.
It was a full on day but lots of wee jobs achieved and some big ones too.
Meeting at the end of the day rounded things off very nicely (3 brownies as I had not eaten but they were tiny so didn’t count)
With lots of professional dialogue about leadership, assessment, eejits in the workplace and little ladies.
So am en route to the padres- such are the joys of logistics of INSET days…..wee lady goes in a pure huff on the RARE occasion she stays there without me. However, it’s win win as I get my dinner made and get to chill out with the folks doon the water, and will be leaving their house at the same time tomorrow as I would when I am in the city…….oh to be back on the beach.
I don’t think I can not mention what a momentous day it’s going to be in Scotland tomorrow and I really hope that our wee nation takes this most wonderful opportunity to stand up and show that we are a proud nation who could do wonderful things given the chance. My answer would always be why not? Ok, so it’s that to everything to be fair.
I’m excited and frightened at the same time. I cast my vote a few weeks ago and now find myself in the strange position of voting by proxy for a friend who is not voting the same way as me. Oh the fun I could have, but ultimately I am so chuffed she is taking the time to get her vote registered. For so long people didn’t vote, or couldn’t be bothered and I ‘ll vote for her, even though I might burn in the process.
I’m voting yes, not for me but for my daughter and all the wee ladies.
I’m voting for the teachers, that we continue to work and create a better society for every young person in the Scottish Education system.
I’m voting for the mammys.
And if I could vote for shoes, well I would.

Mammy points 10/10 most def ( ok so it’s political)
Methodology points 9/10 ( the advanced higher Spanish class was a hoot)
Manolo points 8/10 I’m reliably informed the wee pink flowery ballet pumps are an 8. And that was from a man……,

Leave a Reply

