It’s not you….

image

It’s not you……honest.
I am privileged enough to be able to be involved in interviews in education and the conversations with panel members and candidates always gives me plenty to think about. I am convinced to this day that I was only accepted to teacher training as I was in a walking cast after having had surgery on my foot me they felt sorry for me, I guess they would have remembered me at least for that!
I had an interview for a post and I wore a pistachio coloured suit, which was the discussion of another candidate almost 16 years later, aye, but they didn’t forget me!
One of the things that always strikes me is what people wear, or what they think they should wear. More importantly it is what they say and just how convincing they really are.

However, the process of being a panel member is just as nerve-wracking as you really want the candidates to do their very best, and to relax and well, sparkle.

Interviewing for initial teacher education is always a really interesting experience and I was reminded of the things I have said to candidates. You always worry when someone opens up a conversation with ” do you remember you said……” ( usually that’s OK in a work context but worrying after a night on the ginger beer)
I laughed when one of my fabulous NQTs told me she had decided that she wanted to come and train with us after I had said ‘” right hen, go and get your maths qualification and we will see you in August”
I suppose when you get that connection with someone then you want them to do their very very best.
I interviewed with a friend of mine and we debated long and hard about candidates and he challenged me about my expectations : maybe they were too high?
He called me a few weeks ago after having interviewed and he said” I finally get it, I get what you are looking for. We had a candidate who sparkled”
Ta daaa.
For me,it’s that someone who loves children, who cares and ultimately I think I would be happy if they were teaching my daughter.

I’ve watched other panel members and how they interact with candidates, some play good cop, some play bad cop. Some smile, some grimace. Some will really scratch below the surface to pull the best out of the candidate whereas others are of the opinion that if they don’t bring it to the table they are not getting asked.

I’ve learned how to best interact with panel members by listening and observing and I’ve tried to hone my skills as an interviewer. Talking to people after it is always harder,that’s the rubbish bit. I’m Still working on my ability not to get upset for them too!

Leave a Reply

