Would you do it for free?

image

The question was asked….would you still do your job if you were not paid for it?
The immediate responses from my non teaching friends was not a chance!
I mean there are lots of things I would do without being paid: gin tasting, cake tasting, restaurant reviewer, shoe wearer.
Even when I have had a frustrating day ( and for the record it’s usually with procedure) I really can’t imagine doing anything else.
My love for all things in Education comes from wanting to make a difference and being prepared to put my head and probably more importantly my heart on the line to do so.
I always feel so sad when I talk with colleagues who came into education to make a difference and seem to spend their time doing the exact opposite.
The role models in my career have been for various reasons, but ultimately they have a place in my heart because they made a difference to children. The big blue sky radicalists,the classroom teacher, the student teachers but most importantly ( again)the weans.
It’s easy to feel that you are not making a difference when you don’t see an instant impact of what you do, yet,very often the difference we make on a daily basis cannot be quantified.
Having the chance to influence, education and care for people is surely one of the most privileged positions to be in.
To quote Roald Dahl:
I began to realise how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. He taught me that if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all be passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good, hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.
Please don’t tell my boss I would work for nothing. I have a shoe habit to feed and a 7-year-old who is developing one too….

Leave a Reply

