This one’s for you darlin’

She’s my sweet little thing, she’s my pride and joy.

So all you Stevie Ray Vaughn fans will be singing along. I am going to be honest, it was my little lady, my pride and joy who introduced this song to me, I have written before on various occasions about the sacred time in the car with my dad when I was a student comparing tunes and taking about track of the week and he is pretty much responsible for the eclectic but wonderful array of music I listen to.
And it would appear, my daughter too.
We were escaping the city in the famous taxi of Grandad and my little lady starts singing along to this verbatim, slide notes, syncopation a bit of air guitar to boot, (Bonnie Rait style)
I kid you not.
I’ve not written about her too much lately because we have been having too much to be honest.
Towards the end of December we had a bit of a milestone. She’s had really bad stage fright for a long time and was singing in a big concert in December. I don’t mind saying I was on the edge of my seat to see what happened….what happened? Magic happened.
There she was with some of her friends in a chair of about 70 children. Singing with an adult choir and a full orchestra. Say what you like, but in that amount of people you can spot your own a mile away and I swear I could hear her sing.
I had the privilege of having my old infant headmistress and my parents with me who simply told me ” now you know how we felt”
Burst? I thought I was going to float out. This wasn’t just about singing, this was such a growth in confidence for my little lady and I could not have been more proud.
The holidays were a very chilled mix of sitting about in mermaid blankets together, making things, watching nonsense on the TV and save for a few occasions, not being more than about 10 feet apart.
We still found ourselves dancing in shops and talking twice as long to get anywhere as we had to talk to every dog on the way to our destination.
Like me, she was feeling a bit out of sorts about going back to school and she announced that she would like to be home schooled. Aye,if it was about strictly come dancing and mermaid history, or maybe shoe appreciation, then I am your woman.
Thinking about all the things I learned from my folks made me giggle and I was talking to the little lady about the different things I had learned from my parents.
Music ( playing and appreciation) from them both
Art – def mum. (Came home from my year abroad to a mural on my wall – in case I was missing the sunshine and flowers)
Spelling -Dad ( look it up in the dictionary)
Burns -Dad
Literature -Dad-murgatroid and the shinkickers…….his version of lord of the rings
Dancing – Mum ( all that jumping about in the kitchen)
Exercise -Mum…remember when everyone went mental for the Jane Fonda video?
There was plenty of other subjects that were beautifully covered too…..
However,what have I learned from my sweet little thing over the holidays? Hugs cure anything, sitting in your jammies till lunch time is fine, kung fu with your grandad is also acceptable, downloading games on the kindle for grandma is fine too.
And the little lady also reckons you always need new shoes too. Glittery ones. Imagine.

Leave a Reply

